Association of Environmental Authorities

AEA is a trade association of publicly owned government agencies and private-sector businesses that provide or support clean water and solid waste utility service in New Jersey. The mission of AEA is to provide information, education and advocacy that help member organizations provide professional, efficient and cost-effective service to their ratepayers and to help the public understand and appreciate the work of its members.

AEA Seeking Presentation Proposals for Upcoming Conferences

AEA is seeking proposals for presentations for AEA training programs, workshops, and conferences.  Submissions are primarily used to create programs for the fall and spring conferences in Atlantic City but may be selected for other education activities such as the Environmental Professional Development Academy or special one-day and half-day workshops. It should also be noted that due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemicand associated restrictions at this time, we are also evaluating the necessity of holding a series of shorter topic-specific webinars in the fall, in lieu of the fall 2020 or spring 2021 meeting.

Abstracts are Being Sought From Executive directors, CFOs, operators, operators, financial, accounting, management, human resources professionals, public officials, regulators, engineers, scientists, consultants, sales representatives, manufacturers, academics and others with expertise, knowledge and skills applicable to the management of water, wastewater and solid waste facilities in New Jersey. Preference given to submissions from AEA member organizations.

AEA conferences and workshops are attended by decision-makers (commissioners, executive directors and managers), staff, professionals, licensees, and service providers associated with local water/wastewater/solid waste utilities.

Please refer questions and send completed abstracts to Karen Burris at and Lorna O’Hara at and add “AEA 2020-21 Presentation Proposal” within subject line. Submission deadline is August 31, 2020. All submissions will be considered for the November 2020 and March 2021 conference.

For full details, including a list of topics, contact information and more, please see this document.

You may download a proposal submission form here.


COVID-19 Response Guidelines, Recommendations & Information

Federal Agencies


New Jersey: DEP, DCA and other Agencies


NJ Disaster Recovery


NJ Authorities & Other Local Government Units


Other sources



The Value of AEA in Every Type of Membership

AEA has three classes of members: Regular or authority members, municipal members, and associate members. Any organization that does business within the publically owned water, wastewater, solid waste and recycling agency sector has a place at the AEA table. Our unique focus is the management, administrative and policy development aspects of public utility service.

We Got This! AEA member water, sewer and solid waste utilities have been working hard to protect public health and the envrionment by maintaining service to customers during the COVID19 emergency. Check out our video.

Toilets are not Trash Cans. AEA echoes the message of the National Association of Clean Water Agencies, reminding New Jersey that ALL wipes should be thrown into the trash –NEVER flushed down the toilet. This is especially important during the current pandemic. Check out our video.


AEA notes with sadness the passing of Roger D. Parkhurst. Roger and his company, Pumping Services, have been long-time participants in AEA conferences and events. Please see this link to his obituary


Congratulations to the 2019 EPDA Cohort. Seated l to r: Kylene Clemens, Ocean County UA, Jamie Avagnano, Pequannock River Basin RSA, Kaitlyn Fare, Evesham MUA, Karen Burris, AEA Office Manager. Second row l to r: Michael Pizzuti, Evesham MUA, Emmanuel Stuppard, Willingboro MUA, Peter Machotka, Ocean County UA, Peggy Gallos, AEA Executive Director, Benigno Aquino, Ocean County UA, Gerry Lardiere, Ocean County UA, Peter Canal, Bayshore RSA. Third row l to r: Richard Brand, AEA First Vice President, Brian Valentino, Academy Director, Jeffrey Magil, Western Monmouth UA, Larry Chambers, Plainfield MUA, James Agnello, Ocean County UA, Maximino Arce, Western Monmouth UA